Yep, I’ve Gotten Myself Engaged

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

“We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love.” ~Author Unknown

Well, my best friend and favorite nerd, Mr. M, and I have decided to make it official—we’re engaged!  

Considering how some of my family and friends had already switched over to talking about “when” we got married rather than “if,” I doubt it’s any real surprise to most folks.  And everyone’s been supportive, telling us we’re “adorable” and all that.  I’ve also had several relations offer me their original wedding sets, so despite being a broke college student I actually have some options (each ring possessing its own special form of sentimentality).

Due to the fact Mr. M and I are still both finishing up our bachelor’s degrees, it’ll be about a year and a half before the “big day.”  Finish school.  Start working.  Get married.  But it’s nice to have things all official now.  And I honestly rather like the fact that I have time to wrap my head around the concept of having a fiancé (“boyfriend” still comes out by default) without having to worry about picking a venue, deciding on a dress, or figuring out how to do a gluten-free wedding cake yet.  That’ll all come, but it’s nice to have a chance to enjoy a break from school and adjust a little to this whole engagement idea.    

8 thoughts on “Yep, I’ve Gotten Myself Engaged

  1. Well then Congratulations ! and good for you on keeping it real and not becoming bridezilla ! It is the marriage that’s the big deal, not the wedding
    (from a longtime fan of your mom)

    • Thank you, Elaine! The goal for the wedding is short, sweet, and to the point. We’re going to plan it together (so that it’s our wedding rather than just mine) and in addition to wanting to save money, we also want to save time. We want to be able to focus on our upcoming marriage, not just the ceremony. 🙂

      ~Kelsey

Leave a Reply

